February 6, 2020 Cycle Day 4

Posted by Lisa Sanchez on 2/6/2020

CHSN Daily Announcements: 2/06/20

NYSSMA Registration Open

Registration for this year's NYSSMA Solo & Ensemble Festival is now open. Sign up with Mr. Andert or Mr. Reina by Friday, February 7th. For more information, contact Mr. Andert at jandert@ccsd.edu

https://sites.google.com/ccsd.edu/jandert/nyssma

NORTH PTSA SCHOLARSHIP

Attention Seniors – the North PTSA is offering ten $750 scholarships. You must be a 2020 graduating senior and a member of the CHSN PTSA for your junior and senior years. Applications available at the Counseling Center. Deadline to apply is February 28. For more information, contact Ellen Lehner at CNPTSAScholarship@gmail.com

www.chsnorthptsa.org

S.A.G.E Meeting

Join SAGE (Student Advocates for Gender Equality) and help women in need! Our next club meeting will be February 13th. We hope to see you there. Email Ms. Kalmeta with any questions or email dkalmeta@ccsd.edu

World Languages Honor Society Audition

The World Languages Department will be holding an audition on Thursday, February 6, for all students interested in performing at this year's induction ceremony.  Auditions will be held after school in room 239.

For more information, contact Alina Poulos at apoulos@ccsd.edu

Wear Red Day

Friday, February 7 is Wear Red Day. Please join the American Heart Association in their efforts to raise awareness and support women's heart health by wearing red this Friday. Paper hearts and pins will be available in the main and annex offices  to show your support. Wear Red and Give! For more information, contact Maria Reina at mreina@ccsd.edu

Host Families for Japanese Students

Mrs. Uchiyama is still looking for five more host families for Japanese students who will visit us March 12-19th.  If you would like to have intercultural experiences, this will be a great opportunity for you. Please email to Mrs. Uchiyama and fill out the application form by Feb 10th. For more information, contact Mrs. Uchiyama at auchiyama@ccsd.edu or https://forms.gle/5HP2GBCYdHVgFJcg8

GSA+

Come to the Gay Straight Alliance Plus meeting this Thursday, February 6th after school in room 144! LGBTQ and straight students meet together in a safe place to support each other, socialize, and help promote awareness and equal rights for all. For more information, contact Sue Gold/Erin McGuire at sgold@ccsd.edu/emcguire@ccsd.edu

Principals Showcase

If your Photo was in the Principals Showcase in November, December or January, please come to the Mansion office to pick it up, if you have not already do so. Thank you 

For more information, contact Denise Maguire at 6500

Clarkstown Police Spring 2020 Youth Academy

The Clarkstown Police Spring Youth Academy begins Thursday, March 26. The academy is a 10 week program meeting on Thursdays at 7pm at the Clarkstown Police Department. Applications can be picked up at Officer Benzinger's office room 179 or Officer Vejnoska's Office room 406. For more information, contact Officer Benzinger at mbenzinger@ccsd.edu

Ram's Radio Club

The Ram's Radio Club will be meeting today after school in room 148A.

For more information, contact Ms. Davis at sdavis@ccsd.edu

Math League

The next New York State Math League contest will be held on Thursday, February 13, immediately after school on the fourth floor of the annex.  All are welcome to attend. For more information, contact Mr. Chernick at jchernick@ccsd.edu or https://sites.google.com/a/ccsd.edu/math-department/home/math-league

GEM

The next meeting of GEM, Girls (and guys) Exploring Math will be on Thursday February 13 at 2 pm in Room 412.  We will be talking tessellations and making tessellation pendants. All are invited for pizza, fun and math.

For more information, contact Mrs. Rappazzo at mrappazzo@ccsd.edu