Return to Headlines

North HS Model UN Club Wins Awards at Recent Conference

On October 26, the Clarkstown North Model United Nations club attended Monroe’s annual Model UN conference to debate some of the most pressing international issues of our day.  The members of the Clarkstown North delegation distinguished themselves by taking home the top prize of best delegate in four out of six committees. Other North delegates won awards for Best Position Paper, Honorable Mention, and Outstanding Delegate. All Clarkstown North delegates gained valuable practice in parliamentary procedure, debate, team collaboration, and writing skills. Overall, the trip was an outstanding success for our club’s first conference of the year. We look forward to continuing this success at future conferences.

List of prize winners:

  • Joshua Alexander, Best Delegate: Disarmament & International Security Committee
  • Ragy Beshay, Best Delegate: UN Human Rights Commission
  • Sarah Beshay, Best Position Paper: Social, Humanitarian, and Cultural Committee
  • Sorcha Byrne, Best Delegate: World Health Organization
  • Paula Byrne, Outstanding Delegate: Fun MUN, Avengers
  • Peter Deak, Honorable Mention: Disarmament & International Security Committee
  • Julianna Holmes, Best Delegate: Fun MUN, Avengers

Model UN Students